Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Cloudy with rain makes better photo’s

 

 Finally we are getting a break in the weather. Temperatures down into the low 70’s and light rain brings out the best in people’s attitudes and flower photography. Even with the cloud cover I prefer to shoot early in the morning because the wind is normally lighter at this time. Your exposures will be long so you need to use a tripod unless you have nerves of steel. Even then, if you plan to enlarge the prints at all, you should be using a tripod. A heavy tripod makes a world of difference. I took a very light tripod on a trip to Europe and ended up with a lot of blurry photo’s. 

Rose in rain

  With a tripod, mirror lockup and using a cable release or timer, you will get sharper photos.

Taken during a light rain

September 27, 2010 - Posted by | Photography

4 Comments »

  1. Beautiful!! If you don’t mind me asking, how long were the exposures on these shots?

    Comment by photobyholly | September 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Hello Holly, I had to go back in lightroom and look. The first and last were taken at 1/4 sec and 1/8 sec. The middle was shot at 1/160 sec., about 45 mins later, when the sky was getting lighter. But even at that speed, using a 200mm lens, I could not hold it without some shake. If I am shooting with 50mm lens or wider I can shoot at or around 1/60, but if I am planning on enlarging the print, I use a tripod. Most of my flower photograph’s are taken before the sun is over the horizon, during that time when the sky has that silver glow and the wind has not started yet. During this time some shutter speeds will get as slow as 1sec or more if I am using a hight f/stop to get better depth of field.

      Comment by rdbelden | September 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your information with me! I am trying to teach myself about photography, and there seem to be some things that I can’t figure out just by practicing!

    Comment by photobyholly | September 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Your Welcome. There a few links on my Blog that I think are great. Photo.net and Nature Scapes are two that I go to almost daily. The forums on these two site have solid information, both for the amateur or Pro.

      Comment by rdbelden | September 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

