Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Bird Photography at Jacobson Park.

 

Great Blue Heron resting in tree

 I awoke this morning to a light rain and heavy overcast, but I had decided last night that I was going to spend the morning ( rain or shine)  photographing at Lexington’s Jacobson park. I packed the camera  and rain gear and arrived at the park just as the sun was coming up, not that I could see it for the clouds. I had driven by the lake several days ago and knew that there was a large number of Canadian Gesse wintering on the lake. I also expected to find wild ducks, but I didn’t expect to find so many Great Blue Heron’s.  With them moving around it was hard to get a count, but I believe I saw 7-8 different ones.  A large part of the lake was still frozen and it limited the places where they could find food.  My knowledge of these birds is very limited, but I found myself drawn to them.  From the little I have read, they are year round residents of central and western Ky, feeding mostly on small fish, insects, frogs and snakes. I also found first-hand that when they are startled, they bark like a dog.  The geese where flying in and out in large groups, with many landing on the frozen part of the lake and standing around as if confused. I also spotted a beautiful Red Tailed Hawk looking for breakfast and plan to go back for him when it is not raining.

Flock of Canada's flying over frozen lake

Great Blue Heron at Lexington's Jacobson park

December 30, 2010 - Posted by | Bird, Photography | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great detail on the heron. What lens did you use, if you don’t mind sharing? -Kim

    Comment by KimHindsPhotography | January 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Kim, That was shot with a canon 50d 70-200L f/4 1.4 extender. I was luck that the heron let me get very close. I do not shoot alot of birds, but if I did I think you would need to get a 400mm minimum.

      Comment by rdbelden | January 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

