Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Sunrise Flight- Photography

Canada Goose at Sunrise

   I went without a monitor for several days when my old LCD finally died, having been on the brink for several months. When I got the new monitor I noticed that colors on a lot of my pictures looked off along with being  way too bright. I ordered  the Spyder 3 from Amazon after reading reviews on the different calibration systems. The spyder 3 arrived and after loading the software and hooking the unit on to the LCD’s screen, it took less than 10 mins. to calibrate.  With the new profile loaded I started going through hundreds of photograph’s, re-adjusting brightness and colors. The above photo was one of the last one’s I worked on.

February 5, 2011 - Posted by | Bird, Photography | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. this picture is amazing – the sharpness of the goose in combination with the background – just wow

    Comment by SkP | February 5, 2011 | Reply

    • btw. if you want feedback:
      i guess you programmed (or at least adapted) the website yourself – if seen on smaller screens (or on a high resolution but not with a maximized browser window) everything adapts (width), but the picture ends up bigger than the frame and it is above the menus … 🙂

      but nice blog! I like it

      Comment by SkP | February 5, 2011 | Reply

      • Feedback is always welcome. Yes I did the website in Dreamweaver and have always wonder how it looked and acted for others. When working on it I checked it in IE8 and Opera 10. Sounds like I need to check it in other browsers. What browser do you use.

        Comment by rdbelden | February 5, 2011

    • Thank You , I was very happy with the way it turned out.

      Comment by rdbelden | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. For me, the light on the goose doesn’t match the light in the rest if the photo. I suppose this is a collage of two pictures?

    Comment by Philip Vergeylen | February 5, 2011 | Reply

    • The photo was taken at a very high ISO and even then the goose had tons of noise and artifacts showing. Adjusting light and contrast on the goose to try and loose the noise may have brought about what you are seeing. Before I calibrated my monitor the photo was way off and look wrong in print form. printed this out last night (9×12) and it looks very close to my old eyes.

      Comment by rdbelden | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thanx for the info.
    Monitor calibration is indeed an absolute must for us photographers.

    Comment by Philip Vergeylen | February 5, 2011 | Reply

    • I had used an old LCD for yrs and a lot of my prints lately where coming out too dark. The new monitor was so bright and colors where off, I decided that now was the time to calibrate and the new profile really seems to have help. I had to re-profile the printer ( Epson 1900) but the prints are starting to come around.

      Comment by rdbelden | February 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

