Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Amsterdam Canals- Photography

Bridge over a small side canal in Amsterdam

   I would like to start with a little history about this photo and the reason for the type of post processing that was done. The photo was taken very early morning on a small side canal that runs behind the Botanical gardens in Amsterdam. I happened on this spot while at the Botanical gardens and fell in love with it. The small canal had two bridges, one where the canal feeds into a larger canal and this one that leads to the service area on the back side of the gardens.  You can stand on the far side and either way you look is beautiful. That’s the good stuff, now for the bad stuff. I had just bought a new Canon 17-40L lens to use on the trip and had used it very little. I was shooting and checking composition and exposure after each shot like always. Everything seems fine till I loaded the 1200+ photo’s on to my computer and found that 75% where badly out of focus, which did not show up in the camera’s viewing screen. I sent the camera and lens off to Canon and found that the lens was not focusing correctly. Canon repaired it at no cost (other than shipping) and it works great now. But I still ended up with 700-800 photo’s that where either a little or  a lot out of focus. The above photo fell in the little category, so I started messing with it. I decided sharpening was making it look worse, so I decided to go the other way.  I added a 15% burr to the picture and readjusted the light levels, and then boosted the yellows to add accents to the trees. For me it seems to have saved a picture that I thought was lost. I would really like to hear opinions, good or bad.

February 25, 2011 - Posted by | Photography, Travel | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hey, I am in no way a professional photographer, but I think you did a great job with this photo. I think the colors came out great and it looks like quite the place to visit. Sorry to hear about the lense, at least it was fixed and words great now though!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Nate

    Comment by Nate | February 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Nate, I sometimes work on a photo, like it, week goes by and I look at it and hate it. Getting old and don’t trust myself sometimes.

      Comment by rdbelden | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. It looks beautiful. The composition is lovely, and I really like that blurry effect. I use it on some of my pictures, too.

    Comment by sunsetseasoul | February 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

