Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Emotions – Photography

Rose - Lexington Arboretum _ Vintage treatment

 If you like photography as I do, then you have probably visited the  many websites that cater to professional photographer’s. On these sites it is normal to upload a photograph and then set back and watch the critiques roll in. Some sites have a rating systems that allows other photographer’s the chance to rate your photo by placing a numerical value on it, sort of like the old 1-10 thing. Looking at a photograph, then reading the critiques and ratings that follow has let me to believe that there are two main types of photographer’s.  Both bring a different perspective to the table  The first tries to record the event and adding nothing of themself, while the other type I believe is not just  freezing a two-dimensional slice in time and solely recording the event but also trying to stir an emotion inside the viewer. During my thirty years of doing Art shows I have heard “What where you thinking (or feeling) when you made this?”  thousand’s of times. I guess at times I’m a little slow on the uptake, but I have come to believe that for me, it’s “what do you the viewer feel” that should be more important.  As we go through our day we are manipulated by what we  see, which controls how we feel and ultimately determines what kind of day we have, good or bad.. We have the last say in what we see and which direction it will take our emotions. I have moved up in years and for me photography is now about feeling good. I want the viewer to see a small slice of my life, while having a good feeling about  it and hopefully about their own. I have watched my Grandchildren doing artwork and realized that they are telling me volumes about themselves.  Like the old saying  “A window to your soul” I feel that photography can tell you not only about the person behind the camera, but also about the viewer.

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | Flower, Photography | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

