Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Minimalist Photography

I have found when I am looking at art I’m drawn to the Minimalist look a lot of the time. Seen mostly in paintings and occasionally in photography, the Minimalist look as I understand it is to strip the art or photograph down to its essential components. Simply, anything that is not needed is removed. Well it sounds simple in principle, but seems for me it is going to take some time to work out what can go and what needs to stay.  I see in my mind when I look through the lens what I want the photo to look like, then reality sets in when I see the photo…… So I decided to look at some of my photos that didn’t stand up to what I had in mind when they were shot and try removing the unwanted after the fact,  opposite to the way most minimalist photos are created.  This first picture was taken in Amsterdam’s at the cobra Art Museum. I was drawn to the interior design of the building and took several photos that showed the curves and angles, but none lived up to what I had in mind. I began by turning it into a black & white and then started cutting…. this seem to be close to what I remembered. With the second photo, there were distractions in the background, so I began there and then removed the parts of the horse that I felt where not needed….  How much can you cut? I am still trying to figure that out… Seems to be different with each photo and what the mind will accept. 

Cobra Art Museum- Amsterdam

 

Horse - Keeneland

 

 

July 14, 2011 - Posted by | Photography | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. These images are just FABULOUS!!!

    Comment by iltana | July 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much. I’ve looked at your work before and you shoot a minimalist style sometimes, lights and shadows or just a simple subject (rust). I spent 10 days in Amsterdam last year and found rust on the side of boats made for a beautiful and simple photo.

      Comment by rdbelden | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. very interesting appoach – I think this would be very much like painting, or using texures in photography, you just keep working with the image until you are satisfied. I like the architeture image, but then I have always been drawn to architectural scetches. Personally, with the horse, I think I would like to see more nose…..having said that…….i don’t know what it looked like with more nose, so maybe if it was there it wouldn’t work. Certainly what is there makes me want to spend more time looking at it! thanks for sharing your work, I stumbled upon it, but I am glad I have found your site. I will be back for more visits.

    Comment by jmeyersforeman | July 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

