Belden Designs

Paintings, photography and jewelry

Creating the Vintage look in photography

  I have been ask  how I go about getting the vintage look I use in the horse photo’s, so I decided to put together a photo board showing the steps I use.   First off if I am photographing a race horse in training, I will shoot 3-4 shots as they run pass. I get what looks like a film strip of shots to choose from.

Four shots as horse passes

 Then I will choose one photo to work with ……

Sharpest of the four

 Turn this one into black and white………

Black and White copy

 Now I add a small amount of color back into the photo and soften it….

Selective color added back into shot

Now I begin adding texture on to the photo. This step takes the longest time and I will normally go through and change the photo many times before I feel good about it. Does it make a photo better? I don’t think it is better, just different.

Final shot with color and texture added.

August 7, 2011 - Posted by | Horse, Photography | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

